ALERT!! Welcome to our new website: Please be patient with us as we continue to make improvements.

Planning Commission

Planning Commission

The Huntingdon County Planning Commission, first established on November 15, 1962, is directly responsible to the Board of County Commissioners and is responsible for preparing plans for the County in areas of: transportation, land use, economy and employment, community services, conservation, recreation and open space, sewer and water, solid waste, energy, and housing.  More information about these plans is available on the Huntingdon County Comprehensive Plan page.

While the nine members of the Planning Commission are appointed by the Commissioners, the Planning Commission operates under the provisions of the Pennsylvania Municipalities Planning Code, Act 247 and carries out its responsibilities with the assistance of the Planning and Development Department.

An Annual Report is prepared each year detailing activities of the Planning Commission and Planning and Development Department.

Planning Commission Meeting Information

Meetings and Meeting Agendas

The County Planning Commission meets on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m.  Meetings are held in the Huntingdon County Annex I Conference Room at 205 Penn Street, Huntingdon, PA. 

In accordance with Pennsylvania Act 65 of 2021 signed on June 30, 2021, County Planning Commission meeting agendas are available 24 hours prior to each monthly meeting. 

Planning Commission Members and Mission

Our Mission

It is the mission of the Huntingdon County Planning Commission to develop and implement a positive vision for Huntingdon County; one that reflects economic prosperity, a rural and small-town atmosphere, protection of natural resources, centers-focused development, greenway corridors, improved highway and communication access and a high standard of excellence in both personal and community development.

Planning Commission Members

  • Ron Rabena, Chairman

  • Larry Mutti, Vice Chairman

  • Lawrence Biemiller, Secretary

  • Philip Cahill

  • Peter Liese

  • Wendy Melius

  • Patrick Reeder

  • Bryan Yingling

  • Richard Walker

More Information